Monday, June 30, 2008

44 years wait for Spain

VIENNA (Sun) - In 1964, Spian was crowned as the European Champion but yet they stumbled in the World Cup 1966, which saw England won their one and only World Cup title. Then, in 1984, they reach their last final appearance in any major football tournament when they up against the French squad which we have Michell Platini as the most vulnerable man on field. However, the silverware went to Platini's and his team-mates when the French beat the mighty Spaniards. Ironically, this early morning, Michell Platini handed the European title silverware to the Spanish armada.

Yes, it was a 44 years wait, and yet it is the worth one. Spain beat Germany in a wire-tangling and highly intense match we have ever seen throughout the tournament. Germany kicked off well in the early part of first half, but just couldn't find the net. Their tactic was try to deploy an early goal but it doesn't work well for the midfield and attacking force. Ballack whom earlier reported might missed the Final returned but with dismay playing not-impressive football. Germany only have a lone striker up a front, a common play of 4-4-1-1 put forward by Joachim Low. The Spanish camp had certainly missed David Villa due to injury. An usual 4-4-2 with David Silva and Fernando Torres up a front, then responded to the early impressive but not well organised German play.

The game when to a deadlock of fast attack by the Spanish traded with an equally superb ball possession by the German. The deadlock was broken on the 33th minute, when Torres cleverly tip-off a nice pass from Xavi Hernandez. Although Lahm and Lehmann made some challenge, the tip off by Torres beat both. The ball nicely lifted up over Lehmann and found the lower right net. 1 up and the score and the game play remained till the end of first half.

The second half also displayed some highly intensed game between both teams. What made Germany despair was the fact that they couldn't played the ball, kept the passing accurate and find some shots. Hitzlsperger was the only German to made an on target shot while Miroslav Klose and Ballacks' shot went wide. The Spanish were unlucky to miss a chance to seal the game when Marcos Senna misjudged a nice rollout in front of an empty goal in the late of the game. Earlier, Spanish came out a few times nearly made another scores, but yet poor finishings dismay them. 3 substitution including Kevin Kuranyi and Mario Gomez were brought in to replace the poorly executed Klose and Lahm. Bringing in Kurany made some impact but still no goal. Spanish made tactical switch by bringing in Xabi Alonso, Daniel Guiza and Corzola to replace Torres, Fabregas and Silva. The intense second half with war-fare between the two teams lasted till the last minutes.

Whistle blown by match official, the Italian Roberto Rosetti, to seal the second title for Spanish and bringing an end for Germany to grab the title for the fourth time. Spain deserved to win, no doubt, not only they are the better team but also been good throughout the tournament. Spain which had been under achiever, constantly been labeled as favourite but never surpassed the quarter finals. Now that Luis Aragones men had shown the world who they really are. The tag "under-achiever" are no longer Spain's, yet they are still the highest-ranked team yet to wina World Cup. We hope to see them in South Africa 2010 since both teams are in good and rather easy qualifying group.



.:JoY:. said...

Football, football football.

Hahah you're tagged Bernard!!

hui_pinh said...

german sad :(

acura said...

Yay, Viva Espana!

Post a Comment