Monday, August 04, 2008

MTV Asia Awards 2008

I wasn't there because I have some other stuffs to do back in Kuala Lumpur. Me and my dudes missed out the chance to grab the special MTV invitations a few weeks back. Well, having other important commitments for the works in Uni were the main priorities on Saturday. I know it's been a while since my last update, though!!

Anyway, music fans from all over the Asia will definitely not miss this event held in The Arena of Star, Genting Highlands. The 6th MTV Asia Awards was first held in Malaysia after for so many times it was held in Singapore or Thailand. This year's event was hosted by the front man of 30 Seconds To Mars, Jared Leto and also by Karen Mok.

So the night started with some hot performance that woo more than 3,000 audiences in the hall. The winner of TV show America's Best Dance Crew, JabbaWockeeZ opened up the night with a staggering dance performances. Then the stage was heated up by The Pussycat Dolls with their latest hit, "When I Grow Up". Also performing were Leona Lewis, OneRepublic, Panic At The Disco, The Click Five, The Script and Super Junior. Equally awesome were those awesome acts from all over the Asia - a musical blend of the South-East Asian sounds.

Anyway, here is the list down on the awards winner:
Mainland China - Li Yuchun
Hong Kong - Leo Ku
Indonesia - Yovie & Nuno
Korea - Super Junior
Malaysia - Nicholas Teo
Phillipines - Chicosci
Singapore - Stephanie Sun
Taiwan - Show Lo
Thailand - TOR+ Saksit

Favourite International Artist - Linkin Park
Best Hook-up - Timbaland feat. OneRepublic "Apologize"
Innovation Award - Radiohead
Breakthrough Artist - Leona Lewis
Video Star - 30 Seconds To Mars "A Beautiful Lie"
Bring Da House Down - Muse
edc Style Award - Panic At The Disco
Knockout Award - The Click Five
Inspiration Award - Karen Mok

Well, as I said earlier, I have no chance to watch it live but at least the MTV in Astro did me a favour by airing the repeats. No complaint and no hussles!! See you again in the future, MTV Asia Awards!!

1 comment:

foongpc said...

I didn't go watch it either. Didn't even watch it on Astro! Anwyay, congrats to all the winners especially Linking Park, Leona Lewis and our own Nicholas Teo!

Post a Comment