Thursday, February 28, 2008

History of Malaysian Election

General Election Fever had spawned out this new idea of looking back the years of elections.

1955 - First ever been held and the Alliance Coalition won all but one. Alliance coalition is the merger of United Malays National Organization (UMNO), Malaysian Chinese Association (MCA) and Malaysian Indian Congress (MIC) (then- Malayan).

1959 - Second election, first after independence. The Coalition now only won 74 with 51.7% votes while opposition held 30 seats in the Parliament.

1964 - First election since the formation of Malaysia. Singapore's People's Action Party (PAP) decided to run on the minland but only win one. MCA President apparently appeal to the Chinese to avoid challenging Malay special rights and risk merger with Indonesia. Nevertheless, UMNO were furious with PAP. Eventually, Singapore became independence in 1965.

1969 - Alliance Party returned to power but reduced majority. The Parti Gerakan Rakyat Malaysia (GERAKAN) and Democratic Action Party (DAP) which campaigned against Bumiputra privileges held victory rally which turn ugly, resulting May 13 incident.

1974 - First election under second prime minister, Tun Abdul Razak. Alliance Party, now known as National Front (Barisan Nasional, BN) returned to pwer with winning 135 seats compared to 19 by opposition.

1978 - Election under the led of third prime minister, Tun Hussien Onn. BN won 13o, lost 5 seats due to PAS' decision to opt out of UMNO. The voters turnout was the lowest ever, merely half.

1982 - First election under the led of fourth premier, Tun Mahathir. BN re-elect with majority.

1986 - The general election was won by UMNO, which formed a parliamentary majority on its own for the first time. The great loser was the MCA. The opposition DAP won 24 parliamentary and 37 state seats, mainly on Chinese votes.

1990 - Again, won by UMNO under the ideology of Ketuanan Melayu. However, Kelantan was ruled by the Opposition.

1995 - Again, won by UMNO under the ideology of Bangsa Malaysia

1999 - The focus of the election is about the arrestment of Anwar Ibrahim, DPM at that time due to corruption allegation. BN won 147 seats to 45 by Opposition, with 56.53% of votes, lowest since 1969. PAS governed Kelantan and Terengganu.

2004 - BN won the largest majority, 198 seats to 20 Opposition and 1 independence

2008 - ??

No comments:

Post a Comment